Leeds Civic Trust

[Skip navigation]

Spirit of Leeds Awards

Guest speaker Ian McMillan with 'Spirit of Leeds' Award 2008 Finalists Guest speaker Ian McMillan with 'Spirit of Leeds' Award 2008 Finalists (l-r: Steven Burt, Roland Stross and Richard Mantle for Opera North)

The Award recognises the special imaginative contribution made by an individual, firm or organisation to the enlivening and advancement of Leeds in the spheres of architecture, planning, heritage and amenity.

The presentation is done in the style of the Oscars with three nominees and generates quite a buzz. The Award Lunch is a frequent event and was first awarded in 2000. Previous speakers were the Earl of Harewood, Chris Smith (when Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport; 2000), David Mellor (2002), Janet Street Porter (2004), Sir Simon Jenkins (2006) and Ian McMillan (2008). Please see below for a list of previous winners and runner-ups:.

Year Winner Runner-Up Nominees
2000 Peter Connolly, Yorkshire Design Developments Kate Russell, Director of the Leeds Tapestry and The Thackray Medical Museum
2002 John Thorp, Leeds Civic Architect Leeds West Indian Carnival and West Yorkshire Playhouse
2004 Eric Crown, Eye on the Aire Environmental Campaigner Freda Matthews, LIttle Woodhouse community activist and Ian Tod, Allen Tod Architects, innovative architect
2006 Simon Lindley, City Organist and 'Mr Music' of Leeds Jonathan Maud, Rushbond Group, Property Developer and Sue Reddington, Director of Meanwood Valley Urban Farm
2008 Roland Stross, St James Securities, Property Developer Opera North and Steve Burt, Leeds Historian